About Climate Change AI

Climate Change AI (CCAI) is an organization composed of volunteers from academia and industry who believe that tackling climate change requires concerted societal action, in which machine learning can play an impactful role. Since it was founded in June 2019 (and established as a US domestic non-profit on June 14, 2021), CCAI has led the creation of a global movement in climate change and machine learning, encompassing researchers, engineers, entrepreneurs, investors, policymakers, companies, and NGOs.

Our Mission

To catalyze impactful work at the intersection of climate change and machine learning.

Our Goals

Our Guiding Principles


Board of Directors

Priya L. Donti
Carnegie Mellon
CCAI Chair; Power & Energy Co-Lead
Lynn H. Kaack
Hertie School
CCAI Chair; Public Sector Lead
David Rolnick
McGill, Mila
CCAI Chair
Konstantin Klemmer
Microsoft Research
Communications Chair
Raphaela Kotsch
University of Zurich, ZHAW
Community Leads Chair; Economics & Markets Lead
Nikola Milojevic-Dupont
MCC Berlin, TU Berlin
Content Chair
Evan D. Sherwin
Stanford University
Programs Chair

Affiliated Personnel

We are grateful to benefit from the expertise of these affiliated personnel via our fiscal sponsor, Future Earth International.

Kameliya Petrova
Consulting Director: Projects & Partnerships
Olivia Mendivil Ramos
OneThree Biotech
Consulting Director: Operations

Core Team

Annie Agle
Cambridge Institute for Sustainable Leadership and Cotopaxi
Industry Events
Utkarsha Agwan
UC Berkeley
Community Events
Olalekan Akintande
University of Ibadan
Community Events
Dea Bankova
Reuters Graphics
Zikri Bayraktar
Schlumberger-Doll Research
Carbon Capture & Sequestration Lead
Sara Beery
MIT, Google
Biodiversity Lead
Rasika Bhalerao
Northeastern University
Ashesh Chattopadhyay
Rice University
Ioana Colfescu
National Centre for Atmospheric Science
David Dao
ETH Zürich
Agriculture & Forestry Lead
Hari Prasanna Das
UC Berkeley
Summer School
Ján Drgoňa
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Community Platforms
Jesse Dunietz
AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowship
Media Relations
Simone Fobi
Microsoft AI for Good Research Lab
Data Lead
Alan Fortuny
UNED Adidas
Newsletter; Blog
Soledad Galli
Train in Data
Meareg Hailemariam
Dakar American University of Science and Technology
Melanie Hanna
Jeremy Irvin
Stanford University
Summer School
Kai Jeggle
ETH Zürich
Community Manager
Nathan Kiner
Samuel King
Briink GmbH
Community Events
Kelly Kochanski
Opendoor Labs
Summer School; Industry events
Lukas Kondmann
TU Munich, DLR
Career Events
Alp Kucukelbir
Fero Labs, Columbia University
Entrepreneurship Lead; Course
Sasha Luccioni
Mila, U. de Montréal
Shiva Madadkhani
TU München
Community Events
Ankur Mahesh
LBNL, UC Berkeley
Tutorials; Summer School
Kelton Minor
UCPH, UC Berkeley
Computational Social Sciences Lead
Peetak P. Mitra
Palo Alto Research Center
Jorge Montalvo
Community Events
Panayiotis Moutis
Carnegie Mellon University
Power & Energy Co-Lead
Amanda Sessim Parisenti
University of Strasbourg
Public Sector Co-Lead; Webinars
Geneviève Patterson
Shafat Rahman
Andrew Slavin Ross
Mark Roth
Climate, LLC
Community Events
Sebastian Ruf
Northeastern University
Maria João Sousa
IST, ULisboa
Programs Vice Chair; Summer School
Daniel Spokoyny
Carnegie Mellon
Summer School
Isabelle Tingzon
Thinking Machines Data Science
Kasia Tokarska
ETH Zürich
Community Leads Vice Chair; Climate & Earth Sciences Lead
Archana Vaidheeswaran
Women Who Code
Community Events
Marcus Voss
Birds on Mars, TU Berlin
Buildings & Transportation Lead
Marius Wiggert
UC Berkeley
Sharon Xu
Indigo Ag
Kureha Yamaguchi
University of Cambridge
Community Manager

Advisory Board

Inês Azevedo
Stanford University
Yoshua Bengio
Mila, U. de Montréal
Jennifer Chayes
UC Berkeley
Felix Creutzig
MCC Berlin, TU Berlin
Carla Gomes
Cornell University
Demis Hassabis
Zico Kolter
Carnegie Mellon
Konrad P. Körding
University of Pennsylvania
Claire Monteleoni
CU Boulder
Catherine Nakalembe
University of Maryland
Andrew Y. Ng
Stanford University
John C. Platt
Google AI
Tobias Schmidt
ETH Zürich
Craig Smith
Eye on AI

Former Core Team Members



Selected articles

Selected podcasts and radio shows